ercol furniture showroomThis weekend we made a pilgrimage, in the hope of worshipping mid-century design classics. Our mecca was the ercol furniture showroom, in Princes Risborough.

Set up in 1920 by Lucian Ercolani, the furniture created uses amazing natural materials and sleek non-fussy designs, bringing together traditional crafts with modern technology.

Wondering through the showroom I was in teak heaven! I have coveted the ercol studio couch since I first laid eyes on it in Elle Decoration, many years ago. I still regret the day that I did not snap up the nest of pebble tables in an antique store. The love seat features in my fantasies, sitting in the garden of a Tuscan villa with a handsome stranger (Mr C. obviously!).

Looking at the catalogue, all my favourite pieces are from the originals range.  They have a light, streamlined quality, compared to the modern designs, which are chunkier.

ercol originals

If you don’t have a few grand to spare, as few of us do, there is still hope! The ercol factory outlet has a pile of ex-display, returns and seconds, surely one of them will do for now.

I now have one beedy eye peeled for my ercol faves, I know they will be worth the wait. Plus, Mr. C is also newly crazy for ercol and two sets of eyes are better than one.

– Miss C x