I am quite addicted to art galleries; they stimulate the mind and soothe the soul, for me at least. I dream of Crumpet Cottage being a serene white space, full of paintings, sculptures and artefacts. In reality, my budget and penchant for hoarding, prevent this from happening.

One of my favourite galleries being the V&A in London, I was especially excited to discover an exhibition by a photographer new to me – David Goldblatt. The gallery holds 125 of Goldblatt’s photographs, which he felt needed a safe home outside of his country of South Africa.

The photographs document lives being lived under the Apartheid regime. They are a historical documentation of social oppression, politics and environment. They are also touching, poignant and at times even humorous.

Saturday Morning

David Goldblatt 'Saturday morning at the Pick ‘n Pay Hypermarket: Miss Lovely Legs Competition' Boksburg, 1980 Gelatin-silver print Museum no. E.81-1992 Given by David Goldblatt © David Goldblatt

3.00am

David Goldblatt, '3.00 a.m.: Early passengers on the Wolwekraal-Marabastad bus' 1984 Gelatin-silver print Museum no. Ph.65-1987 © David Goldblatt

Woman Smoking

David Goldblatt, 'Woman smoking', from the series 'Particulars', Fordsburg, Johannesburg, 1975 Gelatin-silver print. Museum no. E.58-1992 Given by David Goldblatt © David Goldblatt

The 80-year-old photographer is still going strong and more of his works can be found online at Goodman Gallery. I feel inspired to pick up the camera and get clicking!

– Miss C x