Undertaking a pilgrimage, to the cupcake equivalent of Mecca, was always going to end in an extreme (sugar) high. Mr Crumpet, in a sweet and romantic gesture, knew how to turn a dreary afternoon into a very exciting one, by leading me to The Hummingbird Bakery at the start of National Cupcake Week.

Hummingbird Bakery

Vanilla Cupcakes

Hummingbird Bakery Cupcake Box

Red Velvet Cupcake

I experience my first taste of Red Velvet cupcakes, the apparent customer favourite, a deep red vanilla sponge with a rich cheese frosting. It was heavenly!

Inspired by our sweet experience, I dusted off my copy of The Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook and together we created our own little crumpet cupcakes. A chocolate sponge with my favourite vanilla frosting (see below), dusted with cocoa powder. Yummy!

Chocolate Sponge

Cupcake Army

Cupcake and strawberry

For the vanilla frosting:

250g icing sugar, sifted

80g unsalted butter, at room temperature

25ml whole milk

a couple of drops of vanilla extract

– Miss C x