Coffee Cake

Much to Mr Crumpet’s amusement, I have a cooking girl crush on the gorgeous Lorraine Pascale. While flipping through her Baking Made Easy cookbook, I decided I needed a little afternoon caffeine pick-me-up but a cup of coffee just seemed too strong for my mood. Instead I opted to make a version of Lorraine’s Irish cream Coffee Cake.

The only changes I made were to use regular self-raising flour, rather than gluten free as in the recipe, and as I have no Irish cream liqueur in the kitchen cupboards, strong coffee from Betty’s Café Tea Rooms in the icing. I halved the icing recipe as I am crazy for sponge and find two layers of buttercream too sickly (Mr C disagrees strongly with this, he thinks sponge should be the icing accompaniment).

For the sponge

200g light brown sugar

pinch of salt

200g cold butter

200g self-raising flour

1 tsp baking powder

4 beaten eggs

2 drops vanilla extract

80ml coffee

  1. Rub together the sugar, salt, butter, flour and baking powder.
  2. Beat in the egg in 3 lots, then add the vanilla and coffee.
  3. Beat for 2-3 mins (work those biceps!)
  4. Divide mixture into two 8 inch tins (I used silicone ones)
  5. Cook for 30mins at 180°C
Betty's Coffee
Cake Batter

For the icing

63g butter

125g icing sugar

1 drop vanilla extract

1 tbsp coffee

  1. Beat together butter, icing sugar and vanilla until light and fluffy, then add the coffee.
  2. Once the sponges are cooled, spread the icing over one and sandwich the other on top.
  3. Dust the top of the cake with icing sugar.
  4. Cut a large piece and enjoy!
Coffee Buttercream
Icing Sugar Cake Top

This is now one of my go-to cake recipes as it is so easy to make and the finished result is perfect every time.

Tip: I think using a really good quality coffee adds a lot to the final taste.

– Miss C x