I will tell you a secret… I am not very keen on Halloween (blasphemous I know). The one and only trick or treating experience I had when I was little, consisted of being egged by Dracula on roller blades, then bombed by the Ghostbusters with firecrackers.

‘The Witches’ by Roald Dahl is enough to give me the heebie jeebies – that’s the book, the film would be far too terrifying. However, as I get older and see the Halloween frenzy that grips the nation, much fuelled from across the pond, I am trying to embrace the dark side, little by little.

Here are some subtly gothic design ideas, if like me, you are trying to tentatively take a few steps in the direction of spooky. Happy Halloween!

Coal Geo Necklace

Coal Geo Beaded Necklace – AMM Handmade Jewellery on etsy.com

Skeleton Kitchen Towel

Kitchen Towel «Les Squelettes» – Bon Matin on supermarkethq.com

Handpainted Wallclock

Handpainted Wallclock – The Painted Clock on notonthehighstreet.com

Modern Mobile

Black Straw Modern Mobile – AMradio on etsy.com

Black Kitten

Black Kitten – Cmielow on styleitoutoline.com

Boo!

– Miss C x