Mr Crumpet and I had our first cultural trip of 2012 – to see the Wildlife Photographer of the Year exhibition at the Natural History Museum at Tring. I thought I knew what ‘passionate’ meant until I learned that these photographers will wait 18 months for that perfect shot, befriend wild foxes and spend hours lying, tummy down, on frozen lakes. My occasional holiday snapshots of local wildlife pale in comparison.

My favourite category by far was Nature in Black & White; I have never seen wildlife portrayed with such a strong graphic element. Any of these images would look fab hung on a wall or printed on fabric.

Here are my faves:

1. Ant line – Adithya Biloor (India)

This really made me smile, we all often feel tiny on the wiggly branch of life!

Ant Line

2. Chachalacascape – Gregory Basco (USA)

How amazing would this look as an art print or upholstery fabric?

Chachalacascape

3. Crane perfection – Stefano Unterthiner (Italy)

At first glance this looks like a shot from a high fashion glossy.

Crane Perfection

Mr C felt a strong bond with Rhino in charge by Wim van den Heever (South Africa) – I wonder why?

Rhino in Charge

– Miss C x