Mississippi Mud Pie

For a weekend filled with country walks, roast chicken and afternoon naps – the obligatory romantic comedy (with dubious acting) was essential. Mr Crumpet indulged me and we snuggled down to watch ‘Waitress’ – unhappily married girl gets knocked-up, has affair with doctor, has baby and decides to eject all men from her life after inheriting a fortune. I’m sure you get the picture, except this romantic heroine has an amazing ability to make delicious pies!

I pretty much love any film, whether it is actually good or not, if it includes some kind of baking. Our pies in the UK are such chunky beasts of the baking world, filled with any farm animal part going (see my pasty recipe here), the US versions can’t help but intrigue. Brightly coloured, with rippling cascades of candy custard and cream, I had to give it a go (not totally successfully).

Cake recipes from The Hummingbird Bakery have never let me down (I shared my cupcake love here) so I trustingly launched myself into baking their Mississippi Mud Pie

For the pie crust:

260g plain flour

½ tsp salt

110g butter

  1. Combine all the ingredients in a food mixture until you have a sandy consistency.
  2. Add two tablespoons of water to bring it together.
  3. Wrap in cling film and rest in fridge for 1 hour.
  4. Preheat oven to 170°C.
  5. Line a greased pie dish with your dough, fill with greaseproof paper and baking beans.
  6. Bake for 10 mins, then remove beans and bake for further 10mins.

This pie crust pastry really threw me; it was hard to work with, and had little flavour, more like making your own edible bowl for the rich filling to sit inside. Next time I will try adding two tablespoons of caster sugar and an egg.

For the filling:

150g dark chocolate, grated

50g butter

30ml golden syrup

6 eggs

300g soft light brown sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

350ml whipping cream

  1. Preheat oven to 170°C.
  2. Put chocolate, butter and syrup in a glass bowl over simmering water and let melt.
  3. Whisk the eggs, sugar and vanilla extract until well combined.
  4. Let the chocolate mixture cool slightly then slowly beat into the egg mixture.
  5. Pour into the pie crust and bake for 40mins.
  6. Refrigerate.

When you are ready to serve, decorate with the whipping cream (don’t over whip like me!) and sprinkle chocolate shavings on top.

I found the pie needed more like an hour in the oven (our oven is pretty old) so adjust your timing accordingly.

Drizzling chocolate

Filling a pie crust

Chocolate tart

The final pie, for a first attempt was… just ok. I am definitely a cake girl at heart but although my brief fantasy of owning an American style pie shop has been left in tatters, I shall definitely be attempting one again – maybe lemon meringue pie next time, yummy!

– Miss C x

Chocolate pie