Bettys Swiss Fitness Loaf

It may seem strange that I get so excited at the prospect of filling my breakfast belly with something called Fitness Loaf (especially with the spread of scones, croissants and muffins on offer at my family home). But this is my absolute favourite bread for toasting, and not at all cardboard like or tasteless as it’s name suggests – I think I may rename it Healthy & Delicious Loaf.

It does not keep that well and is best eaten on the day of baking (not usually a problem), so I was delighted when the recipe was revealed in Bettys Cookbook ‘A Year of Family Recipes’, now I can get my toast fix without travelling hundreds of miles

To make one little loaf (I have halved the Bettys recipe):

225g wholemeal flour

20g sunflower seeds

20g linseeds

20g poppy seeds

big pinch salt

8g butter

5g dried yeast

150ml lukewarm water

½ tbsp honey

  1. Rub the butter into the flour, seeds and salt in a bowl.
  2. Dissolve the honey in the water, sprinkle the yeast into the flour mixture then add the honey water.
  3. Mix together with your hands to make a soft dough, then knead for 10 minutes.
  4. Roll the dough into a ball and pop into a  small lightly buttered loaf tin, cover with cling film and leave to rest for 1.5 hours.
  5. Preheat oven to 200°C, bake the loaf for 25-30 minutes until they sound hollow when you tap the base.

Top Bettys Tip: Seeds protect our bodies against cancer, heart disease and diabetes with all their antioxidants, vitamin E and omega-3 fatty acids.

This bread is best toasted, with a slathering of butter and Bettys Seville Orange Marmalade.

– Miss C x

Sliced Seeded Bread