How To Style Your Bedroom

My beds have always been pretty small. Starting off with pine bunk beds in early life, which progressed onto a single divan, swathed in pink satin, that would have made the Princess and the Pea green with envy. I then moved on to a variety of university accommodation and shared housing, all with dubiously coloured lumpy mattresses, usually squashed in a box room among the eves of a terraced house, where I could barely stand up straight due to the sloping roof. I’m sure you have been there too.

Now, imagine my anxiety at having not one double bedroom, but two! Luckily, Mr Crumpet came to my rescue, with a cape in the form of a much lusted after Orla Kiely duvet cover. Bedroom one sorted.

But what about the second bedroom, usually last on the home décor list. I wanted something serene and clean so I turned to How to Style Your Bedroom, a book written by Chrissie Rucker, founder of bedroom mecca The White Company, for some inspiration (now out of print, try second hand Ebay or Amazon). One day, I am certain I shall have a linen cupboard filled with The White Company bedding, until that day a little advice shall have to do:

‘A bed should be 10cm longer than the tallest person using it.’

‘turn mattresses once a month, and also rotate them from head to toe’

‘Once a week, toss all pillows in a hot tumble dryer or 15 minutes to kill dust mites’

‘Don’t be deceived into thinking that the higher the thread count, the better the sheet’

As a compromise, try Mitre Linen for hotel quality, 100% white cotton and linen bedding, great fabrics at a great price (although the finishing is a little wobbly in places).

– Miss C x

White Bed

Styling Bedding