Going Bananas

Poor Mr Crumpet is going bananas with a cast on his broken arm – he doesn’t even really like bananas so we are always left with extras in the fruit bowl. However, he does like banana bread, so I made a loaf with a little extra sweet something, chocolate raisins – yummy!

I love using spelt flour, I think it gives an extra nutty dimension to my bakes, plus it is (supposedly) a little better for you.

For the banana bread:

150g soft brown sugar

75g soft butter

2 ripe bananas

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp bicarbonate of soda

pinch salt

100g wholemeal spelt four

70g white spelt flour

50g chocolate raisins

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C/160°C fan and line a loaf tin with greaseproof paper (my tin was about 30x23cm).
  2. Mash the bananas in a bowl with a fork.
  3. Mix in the butter, sugar, egg and vanilla.
  4. Add the bicarbonate of soda, salt and flour.
  5. Finally add the chocolate raisins.
  6. Bake for 1 hour until a skewer inserted in the middle comes out clean.
  7. Let it cool and enjoy.

Banana and Chocolate Raisin Bread

I am off to a gentle festival with some girlfriends this weekend, hopefully one armed Mr C will cope fending for himself. I will try and take some photos of the enchantment I discover but they will be with my iPhone I’m afraid, if only I had this Lomography Dreamer Diana F+ Camera – it’s on my wishlist.

Have a lovely weekend all.

– Miss C x