Just Stitches by Dulwich Quilters

Just Stitches (detail) – Group Quilt made by Dulwich Quilters

I must confess, since I received this book by Jane Brocket although I have often picked it up to admire the pictures and textiles within, no quilting stitches have been attempted by my fingers.

To kickstart some inspiration, I went with a craft loving friend to the Dulwich Quilters Exhibition at Dulwich College – a stunning building to visit on a crisp autumn Sunday. The exhibition was charming, so many quilts made by real people with a passion for the craft. I could not get over how different all the quilts were! My favourites tended to lean towards the traditional quilts with pretty floral fabrics rather than the modern quilt artworks hanging from the Old Library ceiling.

Perhaps I shall resolve to wrestle with my rotary cutter in the coming months and create a quilt worthy of a crumpet.

– Miss C x

First Prize Quilt

watercolour + pen

Illustrated Quilt Fabrics

gouache